Main content
When and How to Apply Face Serum

When and How to Apply Face Serum

There’s a serum for every skin concern.
07 Sep 2022
When and How to Apply Face Serum
benefits of face serums

Using a serum is a key step in any skincare routine.

What is a face serum?

While moisturizers are used for hydration and locking in moisture, face serums are water-based and have a thinner texture, which means they can penetrate more deeply into the skin, delivering active ingredients like retinol and hyaluronic acid where they need to go to be most effective. Serums often contain a high concentration of ingredients that make them excellent at targeting specific skin concerns, like breakouts, dark spots, fine lines and more. When applied topically, serums are usually absorbed quickly and should always be applied before reaching for your favourite moisturizer.

What are the benefits of using a face serum?

The benefits of face serums are wide-ranging as different serum formulas treat different skin concerns. The benefits of a hyaluronic acid serum differ from those of a vitamin C serum, but both can help skin look brighter and smoother. Three of the most popular and buzzy ingredients in face serums are vitamin C, retinol and hyaluronic acid.

Vitamin C serum benefits

Vitamin C (often listed as L-ascorbic acid) is an antioxidant; it helps protect the skin from the free radicals it gets exposed to daily, such as environmental aggressors like UV rays and pollution. Vitamin C is not only a nourishing protectant for the skin but also an anti-aging heavyweight as it boosts radiance, can help to fade dark spots and promotes collagen production for smooth, clear skin. La Roche-Posay Pure Vitamin C10 Anti-Aging Serum contains 10% pure vitamin C to deliver a powerful hit of the antioxidant. Use this vitamin C serum every morning to give your skin a serious brightening boost.

Hyaluronic acid serum benefits

Face serums that contain hyaluronic acid (HA) are meant to plump and hydrate the skin. Our skin naturally produces HAβ€”its purpose is to retain water and keep the tissues in the skin and body hydrated. When applied topically in the form of a hyaluronic acid serum, it acts as a humectant, drawing in water and plumping up fine lines and wrinkles to give the skin a smoother appearance. La Roche-Posay Hyalu B5 Anti-Aging Serum is formulated with pure HA and vitamin B5 to replenish the skin’s moisture barrier and activate skin renewal, making it a great pick for all skin types, especially dry and dehydrated skin. Discover all the benefits of hyaluronic acid here.

Retinol serum benefits

One of the best face serums for aging skin, retinol is a dermatologist-recommended anti-aging ingredient that has a long list of benefits. Applied to the skin at night, retinol serum can help to increase the production of collagen (which minimizes fine lines and wrinkles), improve skin texture, curb breakouts and even help with fading dark spots, depending on the formula you’re using. La Roche-Posay Retinol B3 Anti-Aging Serum is a gentle retinol serum that renews skin by combining the anti-aging powerhouse ingredient with vitamin B3 (niacinamide) in a silky, fast-absorbing formula that delivers for all skin types, even sensitive.

Niacinamide serum benefits

It’s anti-inflammatory, brightening and soothing, and it can be used on all skin types from oily to sensitive and everything in between. Using a niacinamide serum like La Roche-Posay Pure Niacinamide 10 Serum helps with minimizing dark spots and marks on the skin.

How do you properly apply serum?

Because face serums have a thinner consistency than creams and lotions, they are best applied on dry, bare skin or directly after a daily facial toner if using one is part of your regular routine. This will also help to ensure that the active ingredients within the serum formula get properly absorbed. After cleansing, squeeze a pea-size amount of the face serum into the palm of your hand and then gently massage it into your face. After your application is complete, wait a few minutes to let the serum absorb into your skin before applying any additional skincare on top. If you’re using a face serum in the morning, always remember to apply your daily broad-spectrum sunscreen as the last step in your routine to protect your skin from UV damage and round out your anti-aging routine. Find out more about the best anti-aging skincare routine here.

Related Products

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device

Main content
Quand et comment appliquer le serum pour le visage

Quand et comment appliquer le sérum pour le visage

Il existe un sérum pour chaque problème de peau.
25 févr. 2022
Quand et comment appliquer le sérum pour le visage
les bienfaits de l’utilisation d’un sérum pour le visage

L’utilisation d’un sérum est une étape clé de toute routine de soins de la peau.

Qu’est-ce qu’un sérum pour le visage ?

L’utilisation d’un sérum est une étape clé de toute routine de soins de la peau. Alors que les soins hydratants sont utilisés pour hydrater et sceller l’hydratation, les sérums pour le visage possèdent des formules à base d’eau et une texture plus légère qui leur permettent de pénétrer la peau plus en profondeur, lui livrant des ingrédients actifs comme du rétinol et de l’acide hyaluronique là où ils doivent aller pour être le plus efficaces. Les sérums contiennent souvent une forte concentration d’ingrédients qui les rend très performants pour cibler des affections cutanées spécifiques comme les boutons, les taches brunes, les ridules et plus encore. Lorsqu’ils sont appliqués de manière topique, les sérums sont habituellement absorbés rapidement et devraient toujours être appliqués avant votre soin hydratant chouchou.

Quels sont les bienfaits de l’utilisation d’un sérum pour le visage ?

Les bienfaits des sérums pour le visage sont nombreux, car les différentes formules de sérums sont conçues pour soigner différents problèmes de peau. Les bienfaits du sérum avec de l’acide hyaluronique sont différents de ceux d’un sérum à la vitamine C. La vitamine C, le rétinol et l’acide hyaluronique sont trois des ingrédients les plus populaires et recherchés dans les sérums pour le visage.

Les bienfaits du sérum à la vitamine C

La vitamine C (souvent appelée acide L-ascorbique) est un antioxydant. Elle aide à protéger la peau contre les radicaux libres auxquels elle est exposée quotidiennement, qui émanent notamment des agressions environnementales comme les rayons UV et la pollution. La vitamine C est non seulement un protecteur nourrissant pour la peau, mais aussi un actif anti-âge puissant puisqu’elle accentue l’éclat, peut aider à atténuer les taches brunes et stimule la production de collagène pour une peau lisse et claire. Pure Vitamin C10 Sérum Anti-Âge de La Roche-Posay contient 10 % de vitamine C pure pour procurer à la peau une dose antioxydante intense. Utilisez ce sérum à la vitamine C tous les matins pour un sérieux coup d’éclat.

Les bienfaits du sérum avec acide hyaluronique

Les sérums pour le visage qui contiennent de l’acide hyaluronique (AH) sont conçus pour repulper et hydrater la peau. Notre peau produit naturellement de l’AH. Son rôle est de retenir l’eau et de préserver l’hydratation dans les tissus de la peau et le corps. Lorsque que cet ingrédient est appliqué de manière topique grâce à un sérum avec acide hyaluronique, il agit comme un humectant, attirant l’eau et comblant les ridules et les rides pour une peau à l’apparence plus lisse. Hyalu B5 Sérum Anti-Âge de La Roche-Posay est formulé avec de l’AH pur et de la vitamine B5 pour regorger la barrière d’hydratation de la peau et activer le renouvellement cellulaire, ce qui fait de lui une bonne option pour tous les types de peau, plus particulièrement la peau sèche et la peau déshydratée. Découvrez tous les bienfaits de l’acide hyaluronique ici.

Les bienfaits du sérum au rétinol

Ingrédient phare des meilleurs sérums pour la peau vieillissante du visage, le rétinol est un actif anti-âge qui possède une longue liste de bienfaits. Appliqué sur la peau, le soir, le sérum au rétinol peut aider à augmenter la production de collagène (ce qui minimise les ridules et les rides), à améliorer la texture de la peau, à freiner les poussées d’acné et même à atténuer les taches brunes, selon la formule utilisée. Retinol B3 Sérum Anti-Âge de La Roche-Posay est un sérum doux au rétinol qui régénère la peau en combinant l’ingrédient anti-âge puissant à la vitamine B3 (la niacinamide) dans une formule soyeuse qui pénètre rapidement et convient à tous les types de peau, même sensible.

Comment appliquer correctement le sérum ?

Puisque les sérums pour le visage ont une consistance plus légère que les crèmes et les lotions, il est préférable de les appliquer sur une peau propre et sèche ou directement après le tonifiant quotidien, si vous en utilisez un dans votre routine de soins de la peau. Cela permettra aussi aux ingrédients actifs contenus dans la formule des sérums d’être absorbés correctement par la peau. Après le nettoyage, déposez un pois du sérum dans votre paume de main et massez-le doucement sur votre visage. Une fois l’application terminée, patientez quelques minutes pour laisser le sérum pour le visage pénétrer dans votre peau, avant d’appliquer tout autre soin par-dessus. Si vous utilisez un sérum le matin, rappelez-vous toujours d’appliquer un écran solaire à large spectre, à la fin de votre rituel, pour protéger votre peau des dommages causés par les rayons UV et compléter votre routine anti-âge. Apprenez-en davantage sur la meilleure routine de soins de la peau anti-âge ici.

Produits Connexes

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device