Sunscreen for Kids: The Dos and Don’ts

Sun protection is important for everyone all year round. But protecting kids and babies from sun damage and harmful UV rays is essential. Limiting sun exposure, choosing a safe sunscreen for kids and selecting the right baby sunscreen are crucial steps in helping to keep your kids safe all year long and lowering the risk of skin cancer in the long run.

What every parent should know

Children’s skin is much more vulnerable to the sun than adults’ skin. In fact, around 40% to 50% of total UV up until age 60 occurs before the age of 20. And sun protection isn’t just something to think about during the summer as UV rays are present all year round, no matter the season. Children are exposed to UV rays during all types of outdoor activities, like playing in the park or on the school playground or engaging in sports. UVA can even penetrate glass and clouds!

When children get too much sun, they can develop a sunburn, which is very painful in the short-term, of course, but its long-term effects are even more worrisome. Studies have shown that five blistering sunburns before the age of 20 can increase someone’s risk of melanoma by a staggering 80%. That’s why it’s essential to find smart ways to protect your children’s skin from the potential harm caused by sun exposure. Don’t forget that sun exposure is incremental: Every little bit adds up and can increase their skin cancer risk over time. The good news? By teaching your children sun-safe behaviors today, you are actively protecting their skin’s health now and in the future.

What is the best sunscreen for babies?

Infants under six months old should be completely kept out of the sun, as their skin is too fragile for sun exposure. Babies over 6 months and toddlers under three years old should limit sun exposure from 11am-3pm and avoid the sun completely between noon and 2pm. Because their skin is so vulnerable to the sun, they should be kept in the shade while wearing protective clothing and using broad-spectrum sun protection on any exposed areas. Children over six months old can use La Roche-Posay Anthelios Dermo-Kids Lotion SPF 50 for Face and Body. This broad-spectrum UVA-UVB face and body sun protection is tested under dermatological and pediatric control and provides advanced protection using ingredients specifically selected for children’s sensitive skin.

What is the best sunscreen for kids?

Kids’ skin should be protected with a broad-spectrum UVA-UVB sunscreen that offers a minumum of SPF 30 when they are out in the sun or even when it’s cloudy. Sunscreen should be applied before any outdoor activities and cover all exposed areas. La Roche-Posay Anthelios Dermo-Kids Lotion SPF 50 for Face and Body offers broad-spectrum protection for face and body and is developed specifically for kids. This UVA-UVB face and body sun protection is tested under dermatological and pediatric control and provides advanced protection using ingredients that have been selected for children’s sensitive skin. This sunscreen is perfect for children who are six months or older.

The dos and don’ts

DO:

  • Apply broad-spectrum sunscreen developed specifically for kids’ skin on children aged six months or older.
  • Apply sunscreen with an SPF of at least 30 whenever kids are outside, even on cloudy days.
  • Keep babies under six months old completely out of the sun.
  • Limit sun exposure from 11am to 3 pm for babies over 6 months and toddlers under three years old and avoid the sun completely between noon and 2pm.
  • Use protective clothing, including long-sleeved T-shirts and trousers (in dark-coloured tightly woven fabrics), a wide-brimmed hat (ideal to protect the face, ears and neck) and wrap-around sunglasses with UVA/UVB protection.
  • Make sure you’re using enough sunscreen: A golf ball-size amount of sunscreen is needed to protect the whole body.
  • Reapply sunscreen every two hours of sun exposure, or after swimming or excessive sweating, to ensure optimal protection.
  • Seek shade at peak times of UV exposure, especially between 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. Teach children to “read their shadow” and stay in the shade if their shadow is smaller than they are. Shade can be provided by trees, parasols, pop-up tents, etc.

DON'T:

  • Allow babies under six months old to have any direct exposure to the sun.
  • Skip sunscreen on cloudy days.
  • Use sunscreen with an SPF of less than 30 on kids and babies.
  • Forget areas such as the ears, nose, lips, back of the neck, hands and feet.

For more sun-safety tips that all parents should know, click here.

Read more

Related products

Related articles

La crème solaire pour enfants : les bons gestes et ceux à éviter

La protection solaire est un geste de prévention important pour tous, et ce, à l’année. Mais, protéger les enfants et les bébés des dommages causés par le soleil et ses rayons UV néfastes est tout simplement essentiel. Limiter l’exposition au soleil, choisir une crème solaire sécuritaire pour les enfants et dénicher le bon écran solaire pour les bébés sont toutes des étapes cruciales pour assurer la sécurité de vos petits toute l’année et, ainsi, diminuer les risques de cancer de la peau à long terme.

Ce que tout parent devrait savoir

La peau des enfants est beaucoup plus vulnérable aux agressions du soleil que celle des adultes. En fait, entre 40 % et 50 % de l’exposition totale aux rayons UV, jusqu’à l’âge de 60 ans, se produit avant l’âge de 20 ans. De plus, la protection solaire n’est pas un geste à adopter seulement en été : les rayons UV sont présents à l’année, peu importe la saison. Les enfants sont exposés aux rayons UV lors de toutes sortes d’activités extérieures, notamment lorsqu’ils jouent au parc ou dans la cour d’école et quand ils s’adonnent aux sports. Les UVA peuvent même traverser les vitres et les nuages !

Lorsque les enfants sont surexposés au soleil, ils peuvent subir des coups de soleil qui sont susceptibles d’être très douloureux à court terme, mais dont les effets à long terme sont encore plus préoccupants. Des études ont démontré que cinq coups de soleil avec cloques avant l’âge de 20 ans peuvent augmenter de 80 % les risques de mélanome. C’est pourquoi trouver des solutions ingénieuses pour protéger la peau de vos enfants contre les dommages causés par l’exposition au soleil est essentiel. Chaque petite exposition augmente leur risque de cancer, au fil du temps. La bonne nouvelle ? En apprenant à vos enfants à adopter des habitudes sécuritaires au soleil aujourd’hui, vous protégez activement la santé de leur peau, dans le moment présent et pour le futur.

Quelle est la meilleure crème solaire pour les bébés ?

Les bébés de moins de six mois ne devraient en aucun cas être exposés au soleil, puisque leur peau est trop fragile. Les bébés de plus de six mois et les jeunes enfants de moins de trois ans ne devraient pas être exposés au soleil entre 11 h et 15 h et devraient totalement éviter l’exposition entre midi et 14 h. En raison de leur peau très sensible au soleil, ils devraient être gardés à l’ombre et porter des vêtements protecteurs ainsi qu’un écran solaire à large spectre sur les zones exposées. Les enfants de plus de six mois peuvent utiliser la Lotion FPS 50 Visage et Corps Anthelios Dermo-Kids de La Roche-Posay. Cette crème solaire à large spectre UVA et UVB pour le visage et le corps a été testée sous contrôle dermatologique et pédiatrique et procure une protection avancée grâce à des ingrédients soigneusement choisis pour les besoins spécifiques de la peau sensible des enfants.

Quelle est la meilleure crème solaire pour les enfants ?

La peau des enfants devrait être protégée à l’aide d’une crème solaire à large spectre UVA et UVB avec un FPS de 30 ou plus, lorsqu’ils sont exposés au soleil, et ce, même par temps nuageux. L’écran solaire devrait être appliqué avant toute activité extérieure, sur toutes les zones du corps exposées. La Lotion FPS 50 Visage et Corps Anthelios Dermo-Kids de La Roche-Posay offre une protection à large spectre pour le visage et le corps et a été spécialement conçue pour les enfants. Cette protection solaire UVA et UVB pour le visage et le corps a été testée sous contrôle dermatologique et pédiatrique et procure une protection avancée grâce à ses ingrédients spécialement choisis pour la peau sensible des enfants. Cette crème solaire est parfaite pour les enfants de six mois et plus.

Les bons gestes et ceux à éviter

Les bons gestes :

  • Appliquer une crème solaire à large spectre spécialement conçue pour la peau des enfants âgés de six mois et plus.
  • Appliquer un écran solaire avec un FPS 30 ou plus, chaque fois que les enfants se trouvent à l’extérieur, même par temps nuageux.
  • Garder les bébés âgés de six mois et moins à l’abri du soleil.
  • Limiter l’exposition au soleil entre 11 h et 15 h pour les bébés de plus de 6 mois et les jeunes enfants de moins de trois ans et éviter complètement l’exposition entre midi et 14 h.
  • Utiliser des vêtements protecteurs, y compris des chandails à manches longues et des pantalons longs (faits de tissus foncés et tissés serrés), un chapeau à large rebord (idéal pour protéger le visage, les oreilles et le cou) et des lunettes de soleil enveloppantes avec une protection UVA/UVB.
  • S’assurer d’appliquer suffisamment de crème solaire : une balle de golf de produit est nécessaire pour couvrir tout le corps.
  • Réappliquer la crème solaire à toutes les deux heures d’exposition au soleil et après une baignade ou avoir transpiré abondamment, pour garantir une protection optimale.
  • Rechercher l’ombre durant les heures d’ensoleillement intenses, plus particulièrement entre 11 h et 15 h. Apprendre à vos enfants à « interpréter leur ombre » en restant à l’ombre si leur ombre est plus petite qu’eux. Vous pouvez trouver de l’ombre sous les arbres, les parasols, les tentes de plage, etc.

Les gestes à éviter :

  • Exposer directement les bébés de moins de six mois au soleil.
  • Ne pas appliquer de crème solaire lors des jours nuageux.
  • Appliquer une crème solaire avec un FPS de 30 ou moins sur les enfants et les bébés.
  • Oublier des zones du corps exposées comme les oreilles, le nez, les lèvres, l’arrière du cou, les mains et les pieds.

Pour plus de conseils de protection solaire qui devraient être suivis par tous les parents, cliquez ici.

Lire la suite

Produits connexes

Articles connexes