The importance of sunscreen to protect the face and body against UV rays

The effects UV Rays

While the sun can be enjoyable, protecting the skin of your face and body from its UV rays with sunscreen is a must. Adopting better sun care habits into your routine can keep your skin healthy and youthful-looking while preventing skin cancer.

The first step to proper sun care is understanding what UV rays are and why we should be shielding ourselves against them for the well-being of our skin and overall health. Ultraviolet rays, or UV rays as they are more commonly known, are a part of the electromagnetic spectrum, which is made up of all visible and invisible forms of light.

Emitted by the sun, UV rays (UVA and UVB) are powerful enough to cause severe damage to our skin because, no matter the time of day or season, our skin is vulnerable to their harmful effects. This is why you need to wear sunscreen regularly; it forms a protective layer between our skin and these potentially dangerous rays, helping fight off major damage and, more seriously, skin cancer. Though the human eye cannot perceive them or necessarily feel them, they can have long-term and lingering effects on our skin. Of the two types of rays, UVB represents only about 5% of what we face daily, while UVA takes up the remainder of the lion’s share.

In the immediate, direct sunlight causes sunburns, which are extremely painful and can take days to heal fully. Sunburns can also sometimes result in aggravation or blistering of the dermis, the skin’s surface layer. Beyond that:

  • Repeated and prolonged ultraviolet exposure changes the appearance of the skin and can cause wrinkles, dark spots, and rougher skin texture in the long term. The more often you spend time outdoors without wearing sun protection, the greater likelihood that skin will start to show signs of aging earlier on, even as early as your twenties and thirties.
  • UVA exposure can cause photosensitivity, meaning that the skin is ultra-sensitive to the sun or other light sources. Photosensitivity typically results from a chemical reaction caused by medication. On average, about 47% of prescription drugs include photosensitivity as a side effect.
  • Ultraviolet rays can also impact your immune system and make otherwise dormant skin conditions like cold sores flare up. Sunburns can also cause outbreaks.

In the most severe cases, heightened exposure to the sun can lead to skin cancer, which, though often treatable, can have life-threatening consequences if not dealt with swiftly.

How can we get a head start on preventing skin cancer?

Like so many people, you’re surely aware of the risks associated with sun exposure. But, are you doing enough to protect your skin? Even if you have a deep complexion or tan easily in the sun, you still need to be diligent about applying sunscreen daily.

When it comes to sun protection, your single most effective ally is sunscreen, which shields your skin, the body’s largest organ, from the damaging effects of UVA/UVB rays. Sunscreen is your first line of defence against skin cancer. However, you can take several other preventative steps to help steer clear of the sun’s harmful rays.

  • Try to limit the time you spend outdoors during the sun’s peak hours, which are between 11 a.m. and 3 p.m.; this is when the sun is at its strongest. If that can’t be avoided, then sunscreen is a must—and not just for your face; make sure to get it all over your body. Try out a fast-absorbing formula for the body such as La Roche-Posay’s Anthelios line.
  • When you are going outside, especially for extended periods, keep well covered. Wear a cap or wide-brimmed hat and, depending on the weather, wear long-sleeve shirts and pants. Even the best sunscreen available can’t do it alone and could always benefit from a bit of backup.
  • When deciding upon a sunscreen, be sure to opt for a water-resistant formula so that it won’t wash away in the water and can stand up to sweat. No matter how waterproof the product, be vigilant about reapplying sunscreen every two hours or so.
  • Start forming good sun protection habits early on; the damage to our DNA caused by the sun results from an accumulation of sun exposure throughout our entire lives. This is why educating children on the importance of sunscreen can help little ones significantly minimize the sun’s impact on their skin throughout their lifetime. La Roche-Posay has developed a line of kids’ sunscreen, offering them extreme protection without irritating their sensitive skin.
  • Make sure to always be on the lookout for any warning signs of skin cancer by performing regular self-examinations. Be mindful of the appearance of any abnormalities, especially concerning your moles. While not all moles are cancerous, sometimes new moles or changes in existing moles can be cause for concern. There are multiple types of skin cancer, including melanoma, which is the most dangerous one. When checking your moles, there are several indicators to keep an eye on. If you start to notice irregularly shaped moles, or if an existing mole is changing shape or growing in size, consult your doctor, who will be able to determine if the mole is cancerous and advise you on the next steps. When going out in the sun, try concealing existing moles from the sun as overexposure can cause cancerous lesions to form. Exposure to the sun’s ultraviolet rays is responsible for 86% of melanomas.

Make sunscreen a habit, such as La Roche-Posay’s sunscreen, as it’s the most powerful preventative tool in your arsenal. Be sure that your sunscreen offers an SPF of at least 30 (the Canadian Dermatology Association strongly advises choosing a sunscreen ranging between 30 and 60 SPF) and that it specifically protects against UVA rays—take note if the label features the Health Canada UVA logo, too.

You may also wish to consider the myriad benefits of mineral sunscreens, which offer broad-spectrum protection and can protect the skin without irritating it, just like organic filters. Mineral filters in sunscreen, such as zinc oxide or titanium dioxide, are popular choices among people with ultra-sensitive skin.

Unlike organic filters, which act as a sponge by absorbing sunlight, impenetrable mineral filters tend to function more like a reflector or disco ball—rays that the skin is exposed to are reflected, then diffused in different directions. The best mineral sunscreens for the face and body are those designed to provide unparalleled coverage against short-term exposure to UVA/UVB rays. What’s more, these cream-based formulas tend to be easily absorbed by the skin and won’t leave a residual white cast on your face nor a greasy or oily complexion.

Why you should wear sunscreen every day

While most people only apply sunscreen before heading outdoors, sunscreen is so much more than just a sometimes thing. The reality is that sunscreen should be applied liberally every single day—especially to our faces—, even on a rainy day during the winter. This is because the sun’s rays are powerful, and up to 80% penetrate clouds or windows.

Regardless of if you’re going for a quick walk, going out for a drive, or if you’re working from home and you work beside a window, you should always be wearing sunscreen. Though this may come as a surprise, the risks of developing skin cancer are just as prevalent even if you aren’t planning on spending lots of time outside.

If you’ve already been wearing a moisturizer with SPF, this is a great start. Now, consider the advantages of a broad-spectrum sunscreen applied daily. Before priming your face for makeup, apply an even coat of sunscreen across your face and then let it absorb for a few minutes. Keep in mind that sunscreen should always be the last step in your skincare routine.

A tinted sunscreen can provide you with the best of both worlds, shielding your skin from the sun’s UV rays while concealing imperfections, all in one application. Come summer, a tinted sunscreen can be a much more lightweight alternative to heavier foundations with sun-blocking benefits to boot. La Roche-Posay’s Anthelios Tinted Ultra-Fluid Lotion is a barely-there formulation that glides on effortlessly. Beyond giving your complexion an even, smooth finish, an oil-free and lightweight formula functions as a beautiful primer and creates the ideal surface for makeup application.

Here’s why you should be using La Roche-Posay’s sunscreen

La Roche-Posay has patented and perfected the Anthelios range of sunscreen products to provide you with optimal sun protection. This line is widely recognized for being the best facial sunscreen in Canada, continually outpacing other brands for numerous reasons.

  • A long-lasting formula: Most La Roche-Posay Anthelios products offer considerable sweat and water resistance for 40 to 80 minutes. Rigorously tested under numerous conditions, these formulas have repeatedly been proven to provide the same continuous sun protection almost an hour and a half after their initial application.
  • A texture that feels better: La Roche-Posay’s rich fast-absorption sunscreen formulas are made for easy application, blending seamlessly onto the skin. Don’t forget that applying sunscreen should be the very last step of your skincare routine.
  • La Roche-Posay’s Anthelios products are developed under strict medical standards, creating a sunscreen formulation that is ultra-safe and incredibly effective against the sun’s rays. Such products provide superior UV protection without irritating your skin thanks to their fragrance-free and dermatologist-tested formulas—no clogged pores here, just healthy, prepped-for-anything skin.

See for yourself why La Roche-Posay’s Anthelios range is the best available sunscreen for the face and body, protecting you from the sun’s UVA/UVB rays. Remember, moderation is essential when it comes to spending time in the sun and taking preventative steps is vital. You can still embrace that sun-kissed feeling; simply be sure to protect your skin first with correct sun care maintenance and safeguard yourself before stepping outside.

Read more

Related products

Related articles

L’importance de la crème solaire contre les rayons UV

Les effets des rayons UV

Bien que passer du temps au soleil soit agréable, il est indispensable de protéger sa peau contre les rayons UV avec une bonne crème solaire. En adoptant de meilleures habitudes de protection solaire, vous augmentez vos chances de garder une peau plus saine et d’apparence plus jeune, tout en prévenant le cancer de la peau.

La première étape vers la protection solaire idéale consiste à comprendre ce que sont les rayons UV et pourquoi il est crucial de nous protéger contre eux pour le bien de notre peau et de notre santé en général. Les rayons ultraviolets, ou rayons UV, font partie du spectre électromagnétique, qui est composé de toutes les formes de lumière visibles et invisibles.

Les rayons UV (UVA et UVB) sont émis par le soleil et peuvent être redoutables pour notre peau car celle-ci est vulnérable à leurs effets néfastes peu importe la saison ou l’heure de la journée. C’est pour cela que mettre de la crème solaire régulièrement est important. Cette dernière forme une couche protectrice entre notre peau et ces rayons potentiellement dangereux, contribuant ainsi à éviter certains troubles cutanés ou pire encore, des maladies comme le cancer de la peau.

Bien que nous ne puissions pas toujours les percevoir ni les ressentir, les ultraviolets peuvent avoir des effets à long terme persistants sur notre peau. Parmi les deux types de rayons qui existent, les UVB représentent environ 5% de ce à quoi nous sommes exposés quotidiennement. Les rayons UVA, quant à eux, occupent les 95% restants.

S’exposer aux rayons UV provoque occasionnellement des coups de soleil très douloureux, qui peuvent mettre des jours avant de guérir complètement. Ces derniers peuvent aussi entraîner des lésions ou la formation de cloques sur le derme, la couche superficielle de la peau. De plus:

  • Une exposition répétée et prolongée aux ultraviolets modifie l’apparence de la peau et peut causer l’apparition de rides, de taches brunes et à long terme, d’un grain de peau granuleux. En claire, plus vous passez de temps à l’extérieur sans protection solaire, plus la peau est susceptible de vieillir prématurément, et ce dès la vingtaine ou la trentaine.
  • Avec le temps, les rayons UVA peuvent entraîner une photosensibilité. Cela signifie que la peau devient hypersensible au soleil ou à d’autres sources de lumière. Cet état résulte généralement d’une réaction chimique causée par la prise de médicaments. Nous comptons en moyenne 47% des médicaments sur ordonnance incluant la photosensibilité dans leur liste d’effets secondaires.
  • Les rayons ultraviolets peuvent avoir un impact négatif sur notre système immunitaire, et réveiller certaines infections telles que l’herpès labial (ou feu sauvage). Les coups de soleil provoquent également des éruptions cutanées.

Dans les cas les plus graves, une exposition accrue au soleil entraîne un cancer de la peau, qui, bien que souvent traitable, peut avoir des conséquences mortelles s’il n’est pas soigné rapidement.

Comment prendre une longueur d’avance dans la prévention du cancer de la peau ?

Comme beaucoup d’autres, vous avez sûrement conscience des risques liés à l’exposition au soleil. Mais en faites-vous assez pour protéger votre peau? Même si vous avez le teint naturellement hâlé ou que vous bronzez facilement, il vaut mieux être prévoyant et mettre de la crème solaire tous les jours.

En matière de protection, votre meilleur allié reste bel et bien la crème solaire. Cette dernière protège votre peau, le plus grand organe du corps, des méfaits causés par les rayons UVA et UVB. C’est votre première défense contre le cancer de la peau. Sachez cependant qu’il existe d’autres mesures préventives pour vous protéger des rayons ultraviolets:

  • Évitez par exemple de vous exposer pendant les périodes d’ensoleillement les plus intenses, soit entre 11 h et 15 h. C’est à ce moment-là que le soleil atteint son paroxysme. Si ce n’est pas possible, la crème solaire est alors indispensable – et pas uniquement pour votre visage. Assurez-vous de l’appliquer sur tout votre corps. Vous pouvez vous orienter vers une formule à absorption rapide de la gamme Anthelios conçue par La Roche-Posay.
  • Lorsque vous sortez, en particulier pour de longues durées, veillez à bien vous couvrir. Portez une casquette ou un chapeau à large bord et en fonction de la météo, privilégiez les chemises à manches longues et les pantalons. Car oui, on a beau avoir la meilleure crème solaire du monde, il faut parfois y mettre du sien.
  • Quand vous magasinez une crème solaire, choisissez plutôt une formule hydrofuge afin qu’elle ne se dissolve pas dans l’eau et qu’elle puisse résister à la transpiration. Et peu importe l’étanchéité de la crème, veillez à en remettre toutes les deux heures environ.
  • Prenez de bonnes habitudes de protection solaire dès le plus jeune âge. La surexposition au soleil peut causer à long terme de graves dommages sur l’ADN. C’est pourquoi éduquer les enfants sur l’importance de la crème solaire est fondamental. Cela peut les aider à comprendre l’impact des rayons ultraviolets sur la peau et à quel point il est crucial de réduire les risques tout au long de sa vie. La Roche Posay a d’ailleurs développé une gamme de crèmes solaires pour enfants, offrant une protection complète, sans irriter leur peau sensible.
  • Soyez toujours à l’affût des signes avant-coureurs du cancer de la peau en effectuant des auto-examens réguliers. Prenez garde à l’apparition de toute anomalie et en particulier à vos grains de beauté. Bien qu’ils ne soient pas tous cancéreux, les grains de beauté – nouveaux ou inhabituels – peuvent parfois être préoccupants. Il existe plusieurs types de cancer de la peau, y compris le mélanome qui est le plus dangereux. Lors de l’inspection de vos grains de beauté, plusieurs symptômes sont à surveiller. Si vous remarquez un aspect irrégulier, un changement de forme ou de grosseur, consultez votre médecin. Celui-ci sera en mesure de déterminer si le grain de beauté est cancéreux ou non et pourra vous indiquer la marche à suivre. Lorsque vous sortez, essayez de cacher vos grains de beauté le plus possible, puisqu’une surexposition peut provoquer la formation de lésions cancéreuses. Notons que 86% des mélanomes sont causés par les rayons du soleil.

N’hésitez donc pas à incorporer la crème solaire dans votre routine de soins. C’est l’outil préventif le plus puissant de votre arsenal, en particulier si vous optez pour La Roche-Posay. Assurez-vous que votre crème protège de tous les rayons ultraviolets, vérifiez que le logo UVA de Santé Canada figure bien sur l’étiquette et que le FPS soit d’au moins 30 (l’Association canadienne de dermatologie conseille de choisir une protection comprise entre 30 et 60 FPS).

Vous pouvez également envisager les crèmes solaires minérales, dont les innombrables bienfaits offrent une protection à large spectre et protègent la peau sans l’irriter tout comme les filtres organiques. Les filtres minéraux, tels que l’oxyde de zinc ou le dioxyde de titane, sont très appréciés par les peaux sensibles.

Contrairement aux filtres organiques, qui absorbent la lumière du soleil, les filtres minéraux agissent comme un réflecteur ou une boule à facettes: les rayons auxquels la peau est exposée sont réfléchis, puis diffusés dans toutes les directions. Les meilleures crèmes minérales sont celles qui garantissent une couverture complète lors des courtes expositions aux rayons UVA et UVB. De plus, ces formules à base de crème sont facilement absorbées et ne laissent aucun résidus blancs, gras ou huileux sur votre peau.

Pourquoi devriez-vous mettre de la crème solaire tous les jours ?

La plupart des gens ne se protègent du soleil que lorsqu’ils sortent. Or mettre de la crème solaire n’est pas une affaire d’exception. L’idéal est de s’en appliquer généreusement chaque jour, en particulier sur le visage, même par temps de pluie durant l’hiver. Les rayons du soleil sont en effet très puissants et environ 80% d’entre eux pénètrent les nuages et les fenêtres.

Qu’importe si vous vous baladez, roulez en voiture, ou travaillez près de la fenêtre, vous devriez toujours mettre de la crème solaire. Bien que cela paraisse surprenant, les risques de développer un cancer de la peau sont tout aussi répandus, même si vous n’avez pas l’intention de vous exposer régulièrement.

Si votre crème hydratante possède un FPS, c’est un bon début. L’utilisation quotidienne d’une crème solaire à large spectre comporte de nombreux avantages. Avant de vous maquiller, appliquez-la en couche uniforme, puis laissez-la absorber pendant quelques minutes. Gardez à l’esprit que la protection solaire devrait toujours être la dernière étape de votre routine de soins.

Une crème solaire teintée peut vous offrir le meilleur des deux mondes. Celle-ci protège votre peau des rayons UV, et dissimule les imperfections, le tout en une seule application.

En été, ce type de crème plus léger offre des avantages de protection solaire et s’impose comme une bonne solution de rechange aux fonds de teint couvrants. La Lotion Ultra-Fluide Teintée Anthelios de La Roche-Posay est une formule quasi-invisible qui s’étale facilement. En plus de donner à votre teint un aspect uniforme et lisse, cette lotion légère et sans huile sert de base pour l’application du maquillage.

Les bienfaits de la crème solaire La Roche-Posay

La gamme de produits solaires Anthelios de La Roche-Posay contient une technologie brevetée et améliorée pour vous offrir une protection solaire optimale. Largement reconnue, elle est la meilleure crème solaire pour le visage au Canada, et surpasse les autres marques sur bien des points :

  • Une formule longue tenue: la plupart des produits Anthelios de La Roche-Posay offrent une haute résistance à l’eau et à la transpiration pour une durée de 40 à 80 minutes. Rigoureusement testées, ces formules ont prouvé à maintes reprises qu’elles offraient le même degré de protection solaire près d’une heure et demie après leur application initiale.
  • Une texture confortable: les formules riches à absorption rapide de La Roche-Posay sont conçues pour faciliter l’application et se fondre parfaitement sur la peau. N’oubliez pas que la crème solaire est votre dernière étape dans votre routine de soins.
  • Les produits Anthelios de La Roche-Posay sont développés selon des normes médicales strictes. Ils apportent une protection solaire ultra-sûre et incroyablement efficace contre les rayons UVA et UVB. Ces produits offrent une protection supérieure sans irriter votre peau grâce à des formules sans parfum et testées par des dermatologues. Grâce à eux, adieu les pores obstrués, et bonjour la peau saine et protégée.

À la lumière de ces éléments, vous constaterez que la gamme Anthelios de La Roche-Posay propose les meilleures crèmes de protection solaire, aussi bien pour le visage que pour le corps. N’oubliez pas que prudence est mère de sûreté : quand il s’agit de s’exposer au soleil, les mesures préventives deviennent vitales. Vous pouvez toujours profiter de la chaleur réconfortante du soleil, mais assurez-vous d’apporter les soins adaptés à votre peau et couvrez-vous avant de mettre le pied dehors.

Lire la suite

Produits connexes

Articles connexes