WHAT IS ECZEMA AND HOW TO TREAT IRRITATED SKIN

A common condition for babies, facial eczema (or atopic dermatitis) can also occur on adult skin.

What is Eczema?

Eczema is a term that refers to a group of conditions that cause skin inflammation and redness, normally resulting in dry, scaly and/or itchy skin with a rash-like appearance.The most common and chronic type of eczema is called Atopic dermatitis, but possible types of eczema also include Contact dermatitis (when your irritated skin is a direct result of the contact with irritants such as detergents or bleach), Dyshidrotic dermatitis (which causes blisters on hands and feet), Stasis dermatitis (which stems from blood flow problems), and others. While there is no permanent cure, there are many skincare products that can cater to eczema-prone skin and target the most common symptoms such as redness and dry patches on skin.

Why do I have eczema on my face?

Eczema-prone skin usually has a weakened skin barrier, which makes it hard to defend itself against irritants and allergens. Beyond factors such as genes and a compromised immune system, it can also be caused by environmental factors such as topical contact with an irritant (for example rough fabrics, soap or perfume), the weather, and even stress.

Where does facial eczema usually show up?

While eczema can occur anywhere, it is common to experience flare-ups on the scalp, the forehead, the eyelids and skin around the eyes (a very sensitive area to treat), and behind the ears. Babies in particular can suffer from eczema on the cheeks. There is also a particular type named Hand Eczema which may lead to red, itchy and/or dry irritated hands with cracks or blisters.

How to treat eczema?

When dealing with the skin on your face, you need to be particularly gentle. To prevent any further irritation, opt for a lipid-enriched anti-irritation face cleanser such as La Roche-Posay’s Toleriane Softening Foaming Gel, a facial wash which is soap-, alcohol- colorant- and paraben-free.

What helps eczema on the body?

When it comes to your body moisturiser, the same rules apply: you need a skincare product designed specifically to help look after your skin which may be more prone to sensitivity and of course dryness. The Lipikar Baume AP+ by La Roche-Posay is a soothing body balm for itchy skin and eczema-prone skin that helps replenish the skin’s natural lipids, reduce tightness and soothe itching. Apply morning and evening after using your Lipikar Syndet AP+ gentle body wash for faster and more effective results. Skin feels instantly soothed and comfortable.

Read more

Related products

Related articles

Soin de l’eczéma du visage

Commun chez les bébés, l’eczéma du visage (dermatite atopique) peut également se produire chez les adultes.

Qu'est-ce que l'eczéma ?

L'eczéma est un terme qui désigne un groupe d'affections qui provoquent des inflammations et des rougeurs de la peau, qui se traduisent normalement par une peau sèche, squameuse et/ou qui démange, avec un aspect irrité. Le type d'eczéma le plus courant et le plus chronique est appelé dermatite atopique, mais les types d'eczéma possibles comprennent également la dermatite de contact (lorsque votre peau irritée est le résultat direct du contact avec des irritants tels que les détergents ou l'eau de javel), la dermatite dyshidrotique (qui provoque des lésions sur les mains et les pieds), la dermatite de stase (qui découle de problèmes de circulation sanguine), et d'autres. Bien qu'il n'existe pas de traitement permanent, il existe de nombreux produits de soins de la peau qui peuvent répondre aux besoins des peaux sujettes à l'eczéma et cibler les symptômes les plus courants tels que les rougeurs et les plaques sèches sur la peau.

Pourquoi ai-je de l’eczéma au visage?

Les peaux sujettes à l'eczéma ont généralement une barrière cutanée affaiblie, ce qui rend difficile leur défense contre les irritants et les allergènes. Au-delà de facteurs tels que les gènes et un système immunitaire fragilisé, l'eczéma peut également être causé par des facteurs environnementaux tels que le contact topique avec un irritant (par exemple des tissus rugueux, du savon ou du parfum), le climat et même le stress.

Où l’eczéma du visage se manifeste-t-il?

L’eczéma peut apparaître partout, mais l’eczéma du visage peut se produire sur le cuir chevelu, le front, les paupières et la peau entourant les yeux (une zone très sensible à traiter), et derrière les oreilles. Les bébés en particulier peuvent avoir de l’eczéma sur les joues. Il existe également un type particulier appelé eczéma des mains, qui peut entraîner des rougeurs, des démangeaisons et/ou des mains sèches et irritées avec des fissures ou des ampoules.

Comment dois-je prendre soin de mon visage?

Si vous avez de l’eczéma au visage, vous devez faire particulièrement attention. Pour éviter d’aggraver l’irritation, choisissez un nettoyant visage non irritant riche en lipides, comme le gel moussant adoucissant Toleriane de La Roche-Posay, un nettoyant pour le visage sans savon, alcool, colorant ni parabène.

Que faire pour l’eczéma sur le corps?

Les mêmes règles s’appliquent à un hydratant pour le corps : il faut employer un produit de soin de la peau conçu expressément pour votre peau, qui peut être plus sensible et bien entendu plus sèche. Le Lipikar Baume AP+ de La Roche-Posay aide à rétablir les lipides naturels de la peau, à diminuer la sensation de tiraillement et à calmer les démangeaisons. Appliquez-le matin et soir, après avoir utilisé votre nettoyant corporel doux Lipikar Syndet AP+ pour obtenir de meilleurs résultats plus facilement. La peau apaisée retrouvera instantanément un confort.

Lire la suite

Produits connexes

Articles connexes