Shea Butter: Lipikar’s Key Ingredient

Eczema is a skin condition that affects a significant number of Canadians. According to the Canadian Dermatology Association, 17% of Canadians will suffer from atopic dermatitis — the most common type of eczema — at some point in their lives. The skin condition causes red, itchy, inflamed skin and can happen in both adults and children. Eczema flare-ups can be due to an allergic reaction or to genetics, and there are multiple reasons why someone might suffer from the skin condition. Regardless of the cause, combatting eczema starts with a healthy, non-compromised skin barrier. Here, we break down everything you need to know about taking care of eczema-prone skin, from creating the best skincare routine with La Roche-Posay’s shea butter-rich Lipikar AP+ range to learning how to balance the skin’s microbiome.

What is shea butter, and what are its benefits?

An ingredient that’s much loved in the skincare industry, shea butter is vegetable butter that’s extracted from the nuts of the shea tree. It contains high levels of omega 6 and omega 9 fatty acids, which work to soften and protect the skin, along with vitamins A, D and E, which is a well-known antioxidant. Generally, shea butter benefits the skin by nourishing, softening and repairing the skin barrier and is known for its soothing and anti-inflammatory properties. While all skin types can benefit from using the hero ingredient, dry and eczema-prone skin can really reap the rewards as it works to strengthen the skin barrier, which is often compromised with these specific skin conditions and concerns.

Shea butter is the key ingredient in La Roche-Posay’s Lipikar skincare line. Each year, the brand uses approximately 300 tons of shea butter from Burkina Faso in Lipikar products. Through this fair-trade agreement, La Roche-Posay supports some 23,000 Burkina Faso women, who harvest the plant; this in turn contributes to community development.

Why is Lipikar’s formula so good for your skin?

Created for dry, irritated, very dry and eczema-prone skin types, the Lipikar skincare range works to restore softness as well as curb itching and irritation. It’s a robust line of nourishing products that can be used on all skin conditions and types; it’s even safe for use on babies and children. Containing ingredients like glycerin, niacinamide and, of course, shea butter, each product deeply hydrates, which helps with skin texture and softness; keeping skin hydrated is also an important step in minimizing itchiness and relapse. Safe for even the most sensitive skin types, the Lipikar skincare line is fragrance-, parabens- and alcohol-free as well as hypoallergenic.

Lipikar improves your skin’s microbiome.

The skin microbiome plays a big role in the general health of skin. Everyone’s skin has an ecosystem of micro-organisms that live on the surface, and that includes bacteria. Together, the skin barrier and microbiome work to protect the body from external aggressors. When the skin microbiome becomes unbalanced, this can weaken the skin barrier, which can lead to skin conditions like eczema, acne breakouts and more. La Roche-Posay’s Lipikar skincare range actively works to keep the skin microbiome healthy and balanced thanks to the inclusion of Aqua Posae Filiformis—an exclusive active that preserves the balance of the microbiome while restoring the skin barrier of the face and body. This active ingredient, along with the bacteria Vitreoscilla filiformis, work together in the Lipikar range to combat irritation.

Lipikar offers a complete skincare routine.

Adopting a skincare routine using La Roche-Posay’s Lipikar line will help to keep your skin happy and healthy.

  • Step 1: Cleanse

    Use a gentle cleanser like Lipikar Syndet AP+ to remove any dirt and excess oil on the skin’s surface.

  • Step 2: Hydrate

    Give skin a dose of hydration with Lipikar Baume AP+M. This ultra-gentle moisturizer contains shea butter, thermal water and glycerin to help lock in hydration and keep skin soft and smooth.

  • Step 3: On-the-go treatment

    Perfect for reapplication throughout the day, Lipikar Stick AP+ is a product you can throw in your bag and use to curb any itchy flare-ups that may occur when you’re out and about. This anti-itch stick offers instant soothing and repairing benefits for dry and eczema-prone skin.

Read more

Related products

Related articles

Le beurre de karité : l’ingrédient clé de la gamme Lipikar

L’eczéma est une affection cutanée qui touche de nombreux Canadiens. Selon l’Association canadienne de dermatologie, 17 % des Canadiens souffriront de dermatite atopique, la forme la plus courante d’eczéma, à un moment ou un autre de leur vie. Cette maladie cutanée est caractérisée par une peau sèche et enflammée qui démange et elle peut toucher les adultes comme les enfants. Les crises d’eczéma peuvent être provoquées par une réaction allergique ou la génétique. Plusieurs facteurs peuvent expliquer le développement de cette affection cutanée chez une personne. Quelle que soit la cause, combattre l’eczéma commence par une barrière cutanée saine et intacte. Ici, nous vous dévoilons tout ce que vous devez savoir pour prendre soin de la peau sujette à l’eczéma, de la création de la meilleure routine de soins pour la peau avec la gamme riche en beurre de karité Lipikar AP+ de La Roche-Posay aux astuces pour équilibrer le microbiome de la peau.

Qu’est-ce que le beurre de karité et quels sont ses bienfaits ?

Ingrédient vénéré dans l’industrie des soins de la peau, le beurre de karité est un beurre végétal qui est extrait des noix du karité. Il contient des niveaux élevés d’acides gras oméga 6 et oméga 9, qui contribuent à apaiser et protéger la peau, et de vitamines A, D et E, qui sont des antioxydants reconnus. De façon générale, le beurre de karité est bénéfique pour la peau, car il adoucit et répare la barrière cutanée et qu’il est reconnu pour ses propriétés anti-inflammatoires. Même si son usage est bénéfique pour tous les types de peau, cet ingrédient phare est particulièrement profitable pour la peau sèche et sujette à l’eczéma, car il contribue à fortifier la barrière cutanée, souvent compromise par ces problèmes de peau spécifiques.

Le beurre de karité est un ingrédient clé de la gamme de soins pour la peau Lipikar de La Roche-Posay. Chaque année, la marque utilise environ 300 tonnes de beurre de karité du Burkina Faso pour formuler les produits Lipikar. À travers cette entente commerciale équitable, La Roche-Posay soutient 23 000 femmes du Burkina Faso cultivant cette plante, contribuant au développement de leur communauté.

Pourquoi la formule de Lipikar est-elle si bonne pour votre peau ?

Conçue pour les peaux sèches, irritées, très sèches et sujettes à l’eczéma, la gamme de soins de la peau Lipikar agit pour restaurer la douceur tout en contrôlant les démangeaisons et l’irritation. Il s’agit de produits nourrissants robustes qui peuvent être utilisés sur tous les types de peau et pour toutes les affections cutanées. La gamme est même sécuritaire pour un usage sur la peau des bébés et des enfants. Fait d’ingrédients comme la glycérine, la niacinamide et, évidemment, le beurre de karité, chaque produit hydrate la peau en profondeur, aidant à améliorer sa texture et sa douceur. De plus, préserver une peau hydratée est également une étape importante pour minimiser les démangeaisons et les risques de récidives. Sécuritaire, même pour les types de peau les plus sensibles, la gamme de soins pour la peau Lipikar est formulée sans fragrance, sans parabènes et sans alcool, en plus d’être hypoallergénique.

Lipikar améliore le microbiome de votre peau.

Le microbiome joue un rôle important dans la santé globale de la peau. La peau de chaque personne possède un écosystème de microorganismes, dont des bactéries, qui vivent sur sa surface. Ensemble, la barrière cutanée et le microbiome agissent pour protéger le corps des agressions extérieures. Lorsque le microbiome de la peau devient déséquilibré, la barrière cutanée peut être affaiblie, ce qui peut entraîner des affections cutanées comme l’eczéma, l’acné et plus encore. La gamme de soins pour la peau Lipikar de La Roche-Posay travaille activement pour préserver l’équilibre et la santé du microbiome de la peau grâce à Aqua Posae Filiformis, un actif exclusif qui préserve l’équilibre du microbiome tout en restaurant la barrière cutanée du visage et du corps. Cet ingrédient actif et la bactérie Vitreoscilla filiformis agissent ensemble dans la formule de la gamme Lipikar pour combattre l’irritation.

Lipikar propose une routine complète de soins de la peau.

Adopter une routine de soins de la peau en utilisant la gamme Lipikar de La Roche-Posay vous aidera à préserver une peau saine.

  • Étape 1 : nettoyer

    Utilisez un nettoyant doux, comme Lipikar Syndet AP+, pour éliminer la saleté et l’excès de sébum en surface de votre peau.

  • Étape 2 : hydrater

    Procurez une dose d’hydratation à votre peau avec Lipikar Baume AP+M. Cet hydratant ultra doux contient du beurre de karité, de l’eau thermale et de la glycérine pour aider à sceller l’hydratation et garder la peau douce et souple.

  • Étape 3 : traiter sur le pouce

    Parfait pour une réapplication durant la journée, Lipikar Stick AP+ est un produit que vous pouvez mettre dans votre sac et utiliser pour calmer une crise de démangeaisons, peu importe l’endroit où vous êtes. Ce bâton anti-grattage procure des bienfaits apaisants et réparateurs instantanés pour la peau sèche et la peau sujette à l’eczéma.

Lire la suite

Produits connexes

Articles connexes