Eczema-Prone Skin: Treatments and Tips

Eczema-prone skin on the face: symptoms and causes

If you’re suffering from red, itchy, inflamed skin, there’s a chance that you have eczema. The skin condition can affect small areas of your skin on the face and body and result in rough, red and inflamed patches that can sometimes be itchy. Those are a few of the most common symptoms of eczema on the face. The term “eczema” refers to multiple types of skin conditions, including atopic dermatitis, which is genetic, and contact dermatitis, which occurs when the skin is allergic to a specific ingredient or product. The symptoms of eczema on the face are the same as those elsewhere on the body, and flare-ups are common on both areas. For more information on eczema, including causes of eczema on the face, don’t miss La Roche-Posay’s Dermclass video. It breaks down everything you need to know about the skin condition. For more on the causes of eczema flare-ups, be sure to watch this Dermclass.

How to care for eczema-prone skin on your face

When it comes to treating eczema on the face, it’s the same as treating eczema elsewhere on the body. While eczema flare-ups on the face can often feel more urgent to treat than those on the body because they’re more visible, the treatment remains the same for all conditions. Here are a few tips for how to curb and care for eczema-prone skin on the face.

Identify the cause

The first step in the treatment for eczema on the face is to determine what type of skin condition you have and what is triggering the flare-up. If you’re unable to get the answers you need from your own deductions at home, a certified dermatologist can help you to determine whether you are reacting to an allergen or irritant (contact dermatitis) or if your eczema is genetic (atopic dermatitis). The dermatologist can also help you create a skincare routine to help soothe and repair the irritation.

Establish a skincare routine

Keeping your skin hydrated is one of the most important steps you can take in minimizing eczema flare-ups. A gentle moisturizing routine with products that are safe for sensitive, eczema-prone skin can help to curb itchiness and irritation.

  • Choose a gentle cleanser that won’t disturb the skin’s microbiome and disrupt the skin barrier. La Roche-Posay’s Lipikar line offers a few cleanser options that are perfect for eczema-prone skin. Lipikar Syndet AP+ is a cream-based soap-free cleanser that can be used on the face or body for a non-irritating cleanse for adults and babies. Cleansing oil is another popular option for cleansing irritation-prone skin. Lipikar Oil AP+ is a lipid-replenishing oil cleanser that helps to nourish the skin barrier and protect the skin from the drying effects of hard water. Lipikar Surgras Bar Soap, a twist on the typical bar soap, provides a cleansing option that protects the skin barrier without leaving skin feeling dry.
  • After cleansing, using a cream suitable for eczema-prone skin is essential to keep skin hydrated and happy. La Roche-Posay Lipikar Baume AP+M is a soothing balm that locks in moisture while helping to relieve itchiness. Another option for a cream suitable for eczema-prone skin on the face is Toleriane Ultra Overnight, a gentle, nourishing night cream that helps to repair skin while you sleep.

While these are preventive measures to help care for eczema-prone skin, it should be noted that with some forms of the skin condition, even when preventive measures are taken, flare-ups can still occur. Pick up more tips for treatment for eczema on the face with La Roche-Posay’s Dermclass video.

Eczema-safe makeup and makeup remover

An often-asked question about eczema-prone skin on the face is whether it can be covered up with makeup. While makeup can help to minimize the redness, it’s important to hydrate and treat the skin before applying it over your face. Before applying any makeup to your face or around your eyes, prep the area with Lipikar Baume AP+M. Toleriane Ultra Eye Contour is an eye cream created especially for the sensitive eye area that won’t cause irritation and provides a great base for the application of makeup. When it comes to removing makeup, using a harsh scrub or soap can disrupt the skin microbiome and cause irritation. Reach for a gentle cream cleanser like Toleriane Dermo-Cleanser or a micellar water like Micellar Water Ultra Reactive Skin to gently break down makeup while leaving your skin barrier intact and undisturbed.

Read more

Related products

Related articles

Peau sujette à l’eczéma : traitements et astuces

Peau du visage sujette à l’eczéma : les symptômes et les causes

Si votre peau est rouge, qu’elle démange et est enflammée, il est probable que vous souffriez d’eczéma. Cette affection cutanée peut toucher de petites surfaces de votre peau sur votre visage et votre corps et provoquer des plaques rouges et irritées, parfois accompagnées de démangeaisons. Ces symptômes sont parmi les signes les courants de l’eczéma du visage. Le terme « eczéma » fait référence à plusieurs types d’affections cutanées, dont la dermatite atopique, qui est génétique, et la dermatite de contact, qui est provoquée par une réaction allergique de la peau après l’application d’un ingrédient ou un produit spécifique. Les symptômes de l’eczéma du visage sont les mêmes que ceux de l’eczéma du corps et les crises se manifestent couramment sur ces deux régions. Pour plus d’information sur l’eczéma, notamment sur les causes de l’eczéma du visage, assurez-vous de visionner la vidéo Dermclass de La Roche-Posay. Vous y trouverez tout ce que vous devez savoir sur cette affection cutanée. Pour plus de renseignements sur les causes des crises d’eczéma, visionnez cette Dermclass.

Comment soigner la peau du visage sujette à l’eczéma

On soigne l’eczéma du visage de la même façon que l’on soigne l’eczéma ailleurs sur le corps. Si les crises d’eczéma sur le visage peuvent sembler plus urgentes à adresser que celles sur le reste du corps, car elles sont plus visibles, le traitement reste le même pour toutes les affections. Voici quelques astuces pour contrôler et soigner la peau du visage sujette à l’eczéma.

Identifier la cause

La première étape pour soigner l’eczéma du visage vise à déterminer de l’affection cutanée dont vous souffrez et les causes des crises. Si vous n’êtes pas en mesure de trouver réponse à ces questions par vos propres moyens à la maison, un dermatologue certifié peut vous aider à déterminer s’il s’agit d’une réaction à un allergène ou un irritant (dermatite de contact) ou si votre eczéma est d’origine génétique (dermatite atopique). Le dermatologue peut aussi vous aider à créer une routine de soins de la peau pour aider à soulager et soigner l’irritation.

Établir une routine de soins de la peau

Préserver une peau hydratée est l’une des étapes les plus importantes pour minimiser les crises d’eczéma. Une routine hydratante douce composée de produits qui sont sécuritaires pour la peau sensible et sujette à l’eczéma peut aider à contrôler les démangeaisons et l’irritation.

  • Choisissez un nettoyant doux qui ne compromettra pas le microbiome de votre peau et qui ne perturbera pas votre barrière cutanée. La gamme Lipikar de La Roche-Posay propose quelques nettoyants parfaits pour la peau sujette à l’eczéma. Lipikar Syndet AP+ est une crème lavante sans savon qui peut être utilisée sur le visage ou le corps, pour un nettoyage non irritant, et s’adresse tant aux adultes qu’aux bébés. L’huile nettoyante est une autre option populaire pour le nettoyage de la peau sujette aux irritations. Lipikar Huile AP+ est une huile lavante relipidante qui aide à nourrir la barrière cutanée et à protéger la peau contre les effets asséchants de l’eau dure. Lipikar Surgras Pain de Savon, un savon en bar revisité, propose un nettoyage qui protège la barrière cutanée sans assécher la peau.
  • Après le nettoyage, utiliser une crème adaptée à la peau sujette à l’eczéma est essentiel pour préserver une peau hydratée et saine. Lipikar Baume AP+M de La Roche-Posay est un baume apaisant qui scelle l’hydratation tout en contribuant à soulager les démangeaisons. Une autre option de crème adaptée pour la peau sujette à l’eczéma du visage est Toleriane Ultra Nuit, une crème de nuit nourrissante et douce qui aide à réparer votre peau pendant votre sommeil.

Bien que ces mesures préventives contribuent à soigner la peau sujette à l’eczéma, il est important de noter que, pour certaines formes de cette affection cutanée, même lorsque ces mesures préventives sont prises, les crises peuvent tout de même survenir. Dénichez encore plus de conseils pour soigner l’eczéma du visage dans la vidéo Dermclass de La Roche-Posay.

Maquillage et démaquillant sans risque pour l’eczéma

L’une des questions les plus fréquentes associées à la peau du visage sujette à l’eczéma est la suivante : est-il possible de la camoufler avec du maquillage ? Bien que le maquillage puisse aider à dissimuler les rougeurs, il est important d’hydrater et soigner la peau avant de l’appliquer sur votre visage. Avant d’utiliser du maquillage sur votre visage ou autour de vos yeux, préparez votre peau avec Lipikar Baume AP+M. Toleriane Ultra Contour Yeux est une crème pour les yeux conçue spécifiquement pour la zone sensible du contour de l’œil qui ne provoque pas d’irritation et qui sert de bonne base pour l’application du maquillage. En matière de démaquillant, l’utilisation d’un exfoliant ou d’un savon agressif peut perturber le microbiome de la peau et, ainsi, causer de l’irritation. Optez pour une crème nettoyante douce, comme Toleriane Fluide Dermo-Nettoyant ou une eau micellaire, comme l’Eau Micellaire Ultra Peaux Réactives, pour dissoudre le maquillage en douceur tout en préservant l’intégrité de votre barrière cutanée.

Lire la suite

Produits connexes

Articles connexes