Acne marks and scars: how to remove them

All about acne scars

Adolescents and adults alike often wonder if there’s an acne scar treatment to take care of scars they’d really rather be rid of. Even though acne is a skin condition that varies from one person to another, we believe that the more severe it is, the higher the risk that scarring could occur. Luckily, acne scars aren’t an inevitability, as treatments exist for removing and fading them. Simply follow these informed pieces of advice for preventing their occurrence, treating them with care and reducing their visual intensity.

What is a scar?

A scar is a mark that appears as skin regenerates following a trauma, such as aggressive acne growth. This natural process allows the skin to protect itself against infection and heal the damaged zone.

What causes scarring?

A growing pimple, especially when touched or pierced, can cause inflammation as enzymes attack collagen and elastin, essential proteins for skin regeneration and elasticity. The result: a scar. But even though scars are permanent, their look can be markedly reduced.

What are the types of acne scars?

There are three distinct types:

1 - Pigment scars

Once pimples recede, the skin can be left with marks or spots that are redder or darker than its natural pigment.

2 - Atrophic scars

These scars are characterized by shallow craters that make the skin look pockmarked; these are caused by a loss of skin tissue as the acne pimples heal.

3 - Hypertrophic scars

Often linked to the most severe forms of acne, these scars make the skin’s surface irregular and swollen, especially on the cheeks and cheekbones. They are caused by an overproduction of connective tissue and collagen as the acne pimples heal.

How to fade acne scars

Despite or best efforts, scars can still form. How long does it take for acne scars to fade? It all depends on their characteristics. A superficial scar will disappear within a few weeks (following light acne growth); however, a deep scar (resulting from a popped pimple or severe inflammation) could stick around for 18 to 24 months and leave an unsightly mark. But fear not! There are a few things you can try to get rid of them.

How to hide marks and redness

Opt for non-comedogenic and hypoallergenic makeup products, such as a hydrating concealer, oil-free foundation or mattifying powder foundation from the Dermablend line, which all mask imperfections for 24 hours while letting the skin breathe. Applying a soothing serum, such as Rosaliac AR Intense, before putting on makeup will also help alleviate redness and reduce its frequency. To kill two birds with one stone, use a corrective care product, like Rosaliac CC Creme, to immediately cover and correct redness and marks left my pigment scars. A gentle peel performed by a beauty institute or dermatologist is another possibility for evening out your skin tone.

How to reduce atrophic and hypertrophic scars

Microdermabrasion, peeling, miconeedling, radiofrequency treatments, CO2 fractional laser treatments, hyaluronic acid or steroid injections—a wealth of medical cosmetic care options exist for fading deeper or obvious scars. Consult a dermatologist or medical-cosmetic specialist to find out which treatment is best for you. Post-treatment, alleviate redness and discomfort with a soothing, hydrating care product, such as Toleriane Ultra.

How to prevent acne scars

Fading acne scars is all well and good, but preventing them from forming in the first place is better! See which statements are true and false to learn which habits to adopt and discover the best products for acne scars and acne scar removal.

Cleansing your skin vigorously slows acne growth.

FALSE. Excessive use of a cleanser or overly abrasive exfoliator, as well as rubbing too hard, will only worsen skin inflammation and encourage scar formation. Go for gentle products, like a cleanser, scrub or oil-free moisturizer intended for acne-prone skin.

Hydrating your skin every day promotes scarring.

TRUE. Hydration is crucial for skin scarring. Remember that even oily skin needs hydrating with an oil-free moisturizer, which fortifies the skin’s barrier function.

Vitamin C speeds up scarring.

TRUE. An antioxidant, vitamin C greatly promotes collagen synthesis, which helps along skin tissue regeneration and scarring. Pepper, citrus fruit, red berries, kiwis, broccoli, cauliflower and parsley are all rich in vitamin C.

Popping a pimple makes it disappear more quickly.

FALSE. When a nasty pimple appears, don’t touch, pinch or pop it; this will only aggravate inflammation or spread the infection to adjacent areas, thereby promoting scar formation.

The sun makes pimples heal more quickly.

FALSE. At first, UV rays seem to improve acned skin; however, they actually make things worse. What’s more, repeated unprotected sun exposure accelerates the formation of pigment scars and amplifies their intensity. Be it summer or winter, avoid going outside with your face exposed and apply mattifying, non-comedogenic sun protection with an SPF of at least 50, such as Anthelios XL Dry Touch.

Wearing masks causes pimples.

TRUE. The pandemic has given rise to the term “maskne,” a portmanteau of “mask” and “acne.” This is because the repeated friction of a mask rubbing against the face can irritate acned skin. Furthermore, the heat and humidity trapped under the mask can promote the proliferation of bacteria and the secretion of sebum. The best way to fight this is to carefully cleanse your skin twice a day, clean your mask after use and adjust it correctly on your face.

Treatment of acne

Treating acne skin starts with a rigorous daily care routine. In the morning and evening, use dermocosmetic products designed for acne-prone skin. This is key for staving off acne growth and the formation of irreversible scars.

1 - Cleanse

Effaclar Purifying Foaming Gel for Oily Sensitive Skin
Clinically proven to rebalance sebum production, this cleansing gel removes impurities and excess sebum, leaving skin clean and healthy.

In the morning and evening, emulsify the foaming gel in your hand with a bit of water and massage it gently on the skin. Rinse with plenty of cool water to better tighten pores.

Clinically proven on sensitive skin, this hypoallergenic and non-comedogenic care product contains no parabens, oil, alcohol or soap.

2 - Tone

Effaclar Astringent Micro-Exfoliant Lotion
This incredibly refreshing toning and micro-exfoliating care product regulates sebum production, helps unclog pores and visibly tightens them with one use.

In the morning and evening, after cleansing, soak a cotton pad in this lotion and spread it gently on your face without rinsing.

Clinically proven on acne-prone skin, this toning care product is hypoallergenic and non-comedogenic.

3 - Treat and hydrate

Effaclar Duo (+) Anti-Imperfection Unclogging Care
This innovative care product simultaneously treats imperfections and obstructed pores, the main culprits of scar formation. Packed with four powerful dermatological actives (niacinamide, piroctone olamine, targeted linoleic acid and LHA, a derivative of salicylic acid), it purifies pores and slows pimples and acne growth, leaving skin lastingly purified, mattified and rebalanced.

In the morning and evening, use small circular motions to work the lotion into your face.

Clinically proven on sensitive skin, this non-oily, non-comedogenic and hypoallergenic care product is paraben-free.

Does salicylic acid help acne scars?

This powerful organic compound is acne’s sworn enemy. Its keratolytic effect (like a natural peel) dislodges clumps of dead cells on the skin’s corneous layer, thereby preventing sebum from obstructing pores. Once freed of impurities, pores tighten up, blackheads disappear and pigment scars fade. Salicylic acid also prevents the growth of bacteria, fungi and viruses on the epidermis all day long, which halts inflammatory reactions that cause acne. It’s no surprise that salicylic acid can be found in care products for acne-prone skin, like Effaclar Duo Anti-Imperfection Corrective Unclogging Care, which contains the ideal 1.5% dose for taming your acne.

This article contains general information and is in no way a substitute for advice from a health professional, who will be able to recommend treatments and products suitable for your needs.

Read more

Related products

Related articles

Marques et cicatrices d’acné: comment les effacer

Tout sur les cicatrices d’acné

Chez l’adolescent comme l’adulte, on se demande que faire avec les cicatrices d’acné dont on souhaite vivement se débarrasser. Bien que l’acné est une affection cutanée qui varie d’une personne à l’autre, on estime que plus elle est sévère, plus elle risque d’entraîner des cicatrices. Heureusement, les cicatrices d’acné ne sont pas une fatalité et il existe des traitements pour les effacer/atténuer. Il suffit de suivre ces conseils avisés pour en prévenir l’apparition, les traiter en douceur et en atténuer visiblement l’apparence.

Qu’est-ce que c’est?

Une cicatrice est la trace que laisse la régénération de la peau après un traumatisme, telle une poussée d’acné sévère. Ce processus naturel permet à la peau de se protéger contre les infections et de guérir la zone endommagée.

Quelle en est la cause?

L’apparition d’un bouton, surtout si on le manipule ou on le perce, peut provoquer une inflammation telle que des enzymes attaquent le collagène et l’élastine, des protéines essentielles à la régénération et à l’élasticité de la peau. Résultat: une cicatrice se forme. Mais bien qu’elles soient définitives, leur aspect peut être nettement amélioré.

Quels sont les types de cicatrices d’acné?

On en distingue trois:

1 - Les cicatrices pigmentaires

Une fois les boutons disparus, la peau peut présenter des marques ou des taches plus rouges ou plus foncées que la pigmentation naturelle de la peau.

2 - Les cicatrices atrophiques

On les reconnaît aux dépressions peu profondes, qui donnent un aspect grêlé à la peau. Elles sont dues à une perte de tissu cutané au moment de la guérison du bouton d’acné.

3 - Les cicatrices hypertrophiques

Souvent liées aux formes d’acné les plus sévères, elles présentent un relief irrégulier ou boursouflé sur la peau, notamment sur les joues et les pommettes. Elles sont dues à une surproduction de tissu conjonctif et de collagène pendant la guérison du bouton d’acné.

Comment atténuer les cicatrices

Malgré toutes les précautions prises, il arrive qu’une cicatrice se forme. Combien de temps met-elle pour disparaître? Tout dépend de ses caractéristiques. Une cicatrice superficielle s’effacera en quelques semaines (suite à une poussée d’acné lègère), mais si elle est profonde (suite à un bouton qu’on a percé ou à une inflammation sévère), elle pourra évoluer durant 18 à 24 mois, et laisser des marques plus ou moins disgracieuses. Mais rien n’est joué! À preuve ces quelques pistes de solutions pour les effacer.

Comment camoufler les marques et les rougeurs

Misez sur des produits de maquillage non-comédogènes et hypoallergéniques, tels un correcteur hydratant, un fond de teint sans huile ou un fond de teint matifiant poudre de la gamme Dermablend, qui masquent les imperfections pendant 24 heures, tout en laissant respirer la peau. L’application d’un sérum apaisant, tel Rosaliac AR Intense avant le maquillage, contribue également à atténuer les rougeurs et à espacer leur apparition. Pour faire coup double, optez pour un soin correcteur, tel Rosaliac CC Creme, qui couvre et corrige immédiatement les rougeurs et les marques, laissées par les cicatrices pigmentaires. Un peeling doux, réalisé en institut esthétique ou chez un dermatologue, peut être aussi envisagé pour unifier le teint.

Comment atténuer les cicatrices atrophiques et hypertrophiques

Microdermabrasion, peeling, microaiguillage, radio-fréquence, traitements au laser fractionné CO2, injections d’acide hyaluronique ou de stéroïdes… Il existe de nombreux soins médico-esthétiques pour estomper les cicatrices plus profondes ou apparentes. Consultez un dermatologue ou un spécialiste en soins médico-esthétiques pour connaître le traitement le plus approprié. Après les séances de traitement, calmez les rougeurs et les senstions d’inconfort avec un soin hydratant apaisant, tel Toleriane Ultra.

Comment prévenir l’apparition des cicatrices?

Vouloir atténuer les cicatrices d’acné, c’est bien. Tout faire pour éviter leur apparition, c’est mieux! Saurez-vous démêler le vrai du faux pour adopter les bons réflexes?

Nettoyer sa peau vigoureusement retarde les poussées d’acné.

FAUX. Abuser d’un nettoyant ou d’un exfoliant trop abrasifs, de même qu’un frottage trop énergique ne feront qu’aggraver l’inflammation cutanée et favoriser l’apparition de cicatrices. Privilégiez plutôt l’utilisation de produits doux, tels un nettoyant, un soin désincrustant, un soin hydratant non gras ou pour les peaux sujettes à l’acné.

Hydrater sa peau chaque jour favorise la cicatrisation.

VRAI. L’hydratation est vitale pour la cicatrisation de la peau. Ne l’oubliez pas: même la peau grasse a besoin d’être hydratée avec un soin hydratant non gras, qui reconstitue la fonction barrière de la peau.

La vitamine C aide à cicatriser plus rapidement.

VRAI. Anti-oxydante, la vitamine C favorise énormément la synthèse du collagène qui aide au renouvellement des tissus cutanés et à la cicatrisation. Elle se trouve en grande quantité dans le poivron, les agrumes, les petits fruits rouges, le kiwi, le brocoli, le chou-fleur et le persil.

Percer un bouton le fait disparaître plus rapidement.

FAUX. Si un vilain bouton fait son apparition, n’y touchez pas, ne le pincez pas et ne le percez pas. Vous ne feriez qu’accroître l’inflammation ou étendre l’infection aux zones voisines, et ainsi favoriser l’apparition de cicatrices.

S’exposer au soleil accélère la guérison des boutons.

FAUX. Car même si, dans un premier temps, les rayons UV donnent l’impression d’améliorer l’état de la peau acnéique, il ne fait que l’aggraver. Sans compter que l’exposition solaire répétée et non protégée accélère l’apparition des cicatrices pigmentaires et en augmente l’intensité. Été comme hiver, évitez de sortir le visage à découvert et appliquez une protection solaire matifiante, non comédogène et dotée d’un FPS d’au moins 50, telle Anthelios XL Toucher Sec.

Porter un masque donne des boutons.

VRAI. La pandémie a donné lieu au terme «mascné», formé à partir de masque et acné. En effet, la friction répétée du masque sur le visage peut irriter la peau acnéique. De plus, la chaleur et l’humidité emprisonnées sous le masque peuvent favoriser la prolifération des bactéries et la sécrétion de sébum. Le mieux est de nettoyer soigneusement sa peau deux fois par jour, de même que son masque après usage, et d’ajuster correctement ce dernier.

Comment traiter une peau sujette à l'acné?

Le traitement d’une peau acnéique commence par une routine de soin quotidienne rigoureuse. Matin et soir, utilisez des produits dermocosmétiques conçus pour les peaux sujettes à l’acné. C’est la clé pour prévenir des poussées d’acné et l’apparition de cicatrices irréversibles.

1 - Nettoyer

Effaclar Gel moussant purifiant peaux grasses et sensibles
Reconnu cliniquement pour rééquilibrer la production de sébum, ce gel nettoyant déloge les impuretés et l’excès de sébum pour laisser la peau nette et saine.

Matin et soir, émulsionnez le gel moussant dans la main avec un peau d’eau, et appliquez-le en massant doucement. Rincez abondamment à l’eau fraîche pour mieux resserrer les pores.

Éprouvé en clinique sur les peaux sensibles, ce soin hypoallergène et non-comédogène est sans paraben, sans huile, sans alcool et sans savon.

2 - Tonifier

Effaclar Lotion astringente micro-exfoliante
D’une grande fraîcheur, ce soin tonifiant et micro-exfoliant régule la production de sébum, combat l’obstruction des pores et les resserre visiblement en un seul passage.

Matin et soir, après le nettoyage, imprégnez un disque de coton de la lotion, puis étalez-la doucement sur le visage, sans rincer.

Éprouvé en clinique sur les peaux sujettes à l’acné, ce soin tonifiant est hypoallergène et non-comédogène.

3 - Traiter et hydrater

Effaclar Duo (+) Soin anti-imperfections correcteur et désincrustant
Ce soin novateur agit simultanément sur les imperfections et les pores obstrués, les principaux responsables de la formation de cicatrices. Gorgé de quatre actifs dermatologiques puissants (niacinamide, piroctone olamine, acide linoléique ciblé et LHA, un dérivé de l’acide salicylique), il purifie les pores, freine les boutons et les poussées d’acné, laissant la peau assainie, matifiée et rééquilibrée durablement.

Matin et soir, faites pénétrer la lotion sur le visage en exécutant de petits mouvements circulaires.

Éprouvé en clinique sur les peaux sensibles, ce soin hypoallergène non gras et non-comédogène ne contient pas de paraben.

L’acide salicylique combat-il l’acné?

Ce composé organique puissant est l’ennemi juré de l’acné. Son action kératolytique (à la manière d’un peeling naturel) déloge les amas de cellules mortes sur la couche cornée et prévient ainsi l’obstruction des pores par le sébum. Les pores débarrassés des impuretés sont ainsi resserrés, les points noirs éliminés et les cicatrices pigmentaires atténuées. L’acide salicylique prévient également la croissance des bactéries, des champignons et des virus sur l’épiderme tout au long de la journée, freinant ainsi les réactions inflammatoires à l’origine de l’acné. Pas étonnant qu’on retrouve l’acide salicylique dans des produits de soins pour la peau sujette à l’acné, tel Effaclar Duo Soin Anti-imperfections Correcteur et Désincrustant, qui en contient 1,5%, soit la dose idéale pour maîtriser votre acné.

Cet article comporte des informations d’ordre général, et ne remplace en aucun cas l’avis d’un professionnel de la santé, qui saura vous recommander un traitement et des produits adaptés à votre situation.

Lire la suite

Produits connexes

Articles connexes